Institute of Solid State Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
 Home  Quick links  Contact Us
About Us
Introduction of ISSP
Founder of our institute-Professor Tingsui Ge
other famous Scientists of ISSP
Current Leadership
Views of ISSP
Founder of our institute-Professor Tingsui Ge

Prof. T. S. K¨º

The Institute of Solid State Physics (ISSP), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), was founded by Prof. T. S. K¨º, a worldwide well-known solid-state physicist and metalurgist, in March 1982.

T.S. K¨º(Ge Tingsui) was a professor, director and honorary director of the Institute of Solid-State Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He earned his B.S. in physics at Tsing Hua University, China, in 1937, his M.S. in physics at Yenching University, China, in 1940, and his Ph.D. in physics at the University of California at Berkeley in 1943. During his career, he has been a staff member at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a research associate at the University of Chicago, a visiting professor at the Max-Planck-Institut f¨¹r Metallforschung, and guest professor at INSA de Lyon. He is the inventor of the Ke type torion pendulum and discoverer of the Ke grain-boundary internal friction peak. He also proposed the Ke grain-boundary model of disordered atomic groups. Dr. Ke has received several honors and awards, including citations for his participation in the Manhattan Project and the Long-Range Radar Project. He has published more than 240 papers.

Prof. T. S. K¨º had won the highest international award for Materials Technology£­Victor K. LaMer Award in 1999, HE Liang-HE Li Award for Progress in Science & Technology and international Lifetime Achievement Award for internal his inavitive work in friction field in 1996.

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society's Institute of Metals Lecture, established in 1921, recognizes an outstanding scientific leader who is selected to present a lecture at the TMS Annual Meeting. The Robert Franklin Mehl Award was established in 1972.

Quote: "I started my research work on internal friction and anelastic relaxation in metals in 1945 at the University of Chicago Institute for the Study of Metals and have some achievements in the study of grain-boundary relaxation and non-linear anelastic relaxation associated with the interaction between point defects and dislocations. This research continued when I returned to China in 1949 and made more progress. The 1999 Institute of Metals Lecturer and Robert Franklin Mehl Award bestowed to me signifies the fruitful international science cooperation between the United States and China¡±

Copyright © Institute of Solid State Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Tel:0551-65595255  Fax:0551-65591434  Address:350 Shushanhu Road Hefei 230031, Anhui, P. R. China